Lefkes is one of the largest inland villages and is the settlement at the highest altitude. It is built under a pine-covered hill. The typically Aegean houses are arrayed amphitheatrically, and the village boasts many narrow streets though which cars cannot pass and are perfect for walking.The main street of the village is named Ramnos, with a few tourist shops and attractions, such as the stunning neoclassical buildings, the House of Literature and the Museum of Cycladic Folklore. Many of the traditional wash houses in the old houses are still used by the women of the village. Locals meet on the main square, near the monument dedicated to the Heroes of war, to talk and have a coffee. The entire stroll along Ramnos Street boasts an excellent view of the east coast of the island. Agia Triada is at the end of the road, an impressive church constructed of Parian marble in 1835. It features a three-aisle basilica with a raised middle aisle and two bell towers, exquisite examples of work by experienced Parian marble sculptors. Agia Triada is a historical listed monument and one of the churches on Paros that shouldn't be missed. Lefkes also has other religious monuments worth visiting such as the church of Panagias Ypapantis or "Virgin Mary in the Cells" as the Parians call it, the monastery of Agios Ioannis Prodromos, the country chapel of Agias Kyriakis in Pano Lefkes, and many other small country churches. All houses in the village are clean, whitewashed and overflowing with brightly colored flowers, season permitting. The feast of Karavolas is held in late August, and is one of the biggest celebrations in the Aegean with plenty of food, karavoles (large snails), wine, music and dancing till dawn. The Byzantine road starts in Lefkes. It is a unique marble-paved path over 1,000 years old that runs parallel to the automobile road and connects Lefkes with the village of Prodromos.